Stop me if you've heard this one...

2004-10-21, 3:30 p.m.

If I sign up for Nanowrimo and also tell work about it and write a column based on my progress and perhaps let them serialize this novel (for which I have no ideas and don't know if I will actually finish because I have no time) if they let me use the laptop which has been sitting by my desk unused and unloved ever since I lugged it back to Toronto, am I insane?

I write for a living and then I come home and write some more for my journal and this site (though that hasn't been going well) and I like to do other things like sleep and read and eat and I'm worried none of that will get done because I am a wuss who looooooves to procastinate. If procrastination were an olympic sport, I'd be on the couch watching it take place on TV because I procrastinate so badly I wouldn't even bother practicing.

Hmmm. Past Nanowrimos, convince me!

###

Last night, I phoned my mom because I don't have cable television nor do I have a radio that can tune in the nearest sports station airing the game. She phoned me back (because she has a long distance plan and I don't) and I made fun of her because finally, at long last, my bosox have made it to the World Series again. And this year, they're going to win. I mean, Houston? St. Louis? Don't make me laugh! (I'm just kidding, I quite like both teams and am looking forward to an interesting series with people who are not the yankees. Except Roger Clemens. To him, I say "Fie sir! Fie on you! Ptooie! I spit on you, you team-hopping, cock-punch-needing, assoholic jerk! May you be cursed with an unpleasant rash that affects your pitching.")
Anyway, so I was on the phone with my mom and I was listening to her bash the Red Sox and lie to me and tell me the score was like, 10 to 9 and I was in big trouble because they were going to lose (she had me going � I don't have a tv people! I'm easily fooled.) and I heard my dad (who hates the yankees) celebrating. So my mom had to give up the ghost and admit that the sox won 10-3. Woooo00t! Oh yeah, it was my mom's birthday yesterday and in my intense desire to see the red sox win, I completely forgot to wish her a happy birthday. Ahem. You may all now tell me I'm forgiven because this is a once in a lifetime thing. Like witnessing Yeti or a leprechaun.
Curt Schilling. They sewed him together to have him pitch! They sewed him together. That is some dedication. That is some wanting it right there. That's some great, amazing tenacity. My hat (and sox) are off to him.

0 have spoken





���