They're here. They're queer. They're getting married and Canada is invited!

2005-06-29, 2:02 a.m.

Hell. Yeah.

So. Anybody know any single gay people they want to hook up and get married JUST to issue a wedding invitation to Stephen Harper? (That would be the dud with his head down in the photo from the second link.)

I've spoke about gay marriage in the past and I was likely far more eloquent. I probably wasn't on the wrong end of a long shift on a rainy day with two hours sleep because the goddamn cat wouldn't quit scratching at the closet door and for the love of GOD, THERE IS NOTHING IN THERE BUT SWEATERS, YOU HAIRY LITTLE FREAK!

I will say right now that I don't care what political machinations had to happen in order for all the suits to vote this way. I'm pleased as punch and I don't care. Hear that, Harper? I don't. How can I? Gloria Gaynor is being played at top volume across the country!

For this to happen in June during Gay Pride Month is just... super! I'm so happy for everybody who's gay and wants to be married. Go for it, my queer friends. Shine on, you crazy diamonds!

I live in Alberta, which is like, the Texas of Canada. I'm sure when we all wake up tomorrow feeling the effects of that cheap champagne we bought to celebrate this awesome day (nobody but me did that? Huh.) we'll be faced with the naysayers and their columns and articles and rhetoric screaming Outrage! Scandal! Shock!

I think I speak for everybody who is reasonable and tolerant when I say: "Thhhbbbbppppppttttt!" This is how it is now, so get used to it.

And in a month or two, nobody is going to CARE except for the homosexual people who love each other very much and want to show it and make it legal. Seriously. I LONG for tomorrow, when the earth DOESN'T spin off its axis and we can all just go back to living our lives without homophobic assholes claiming that gay marriage will mean the end of the world.

Because the problem with this whole thing is that people who are against gay marriage are afraid it's going to do something HORRIBLE to the sanctity of marriage (nothing divorce hasn't already done) or the church (you know, molesting young children so did not hurt the sanctity of holy mother church), families (Puh-lease don't make me remind you that families exist with or without marriage, gay, straight or otherwise). They are AFRAID. And you know what? There is NOTHING to fear.

If you are not gay and you "can't stand the gays", then guess what? The fact that they are able to marry legally does not affect you ONE LITTLE BIT.

Unless some crazy gay person wants your bigotted, prejudiced ass at their wedding for some unknown reason and they find you and kidnap you and force you to watch as they tell everybody that they love each other.

Barring that, you have nothing to worry about.

Gay Americans? C'mon up. We're keeping the wedding beer cold for you. I look forward to the first big gay wedding at which I can be a bridesmaid. Or a groomsman. I'm not too sure how that's going to work.

**************

I'm starring down the tunnel at a very loooong next couple of days. I'm leaving for Regina Thursday, either at 8 p.m. or 12:30 a.m. On a Greyhound. Ugh. And might I also add: Blech.

Seriously. I FUCKING HATE the bus. I would rather prop open my eyelids with razor sharp cayenne pepper flavoured toothpicks and drive home than take the bus. Unfortunately, I have no car.

Fortunately, I am starting to learn the meaning of budgeting and I think that in the next few months, I should be able to put together enough scratch to make sure everything is paid on time and still be able to afford insurance payments on top of whatever I end up having to pay a)my lawyer b)the evil, soul-sucking company which is attempting to make me pay them $12,000 for a fender bender.

I should BE so lucky to be involved in a fender bender where the other party is at fault! Living in Alberta, bastion of private insurance that it is, and knowing what I now know, I would sue that fucker so fast his head would spin!

**************

I need somebody to look in on my cat while I'm gone. I'll only be in Weyburn for four days. I wonder if my cousin who lives across the street would do it? I sincerely hope so.

**************

I'm hoping to spend some time in Regina with my friend Amanda. We have so much fun together. Brunch with her would be sooo awesome. I need to figure out what I'm doing and make sure I have enough stuff done at work to leave early Thursday.

**************

This is so sad: I'm taking all my clothes home so I can do laundry for free. When will I grow up? Oh, never? Great. Thanks for that vote of confidence, diary.


Tube: Conan
Tunes: Funeral - Arcade Fire
Text: Be Cool - Elmore Leonard


0 have spoken





���