I am part of the problem

2006-01-28, 2:34 a.m.

I do not say this lightly, but I think Blockbluster needs to go back to threatening to cut off your toes if you don't bring back your movies on time. I rented some movies for New Year's Eve and didn't return them until today.

I'm sorry, everybody. I was not kind. I did not return on time. Which is the phrase that's replaced Be Kind Rewind in the DVD age.

Even I, lazy sloth that I am, understand that you can't take a month to return videos! But by gum, if they're only going to charge me $1.80 as a late fee, I'm TOTALLY FINE with paying that. I'm also a total hypocrite. Because when I go down to the video store and look for titles, they're all out and I'm cursing people. GOD! Don't they know it's going to cost them a lot of... damn! That is so ANNOYING!

Luckily, I feel nobody is clamouring to rent one of the five copies of Fargo they have.

************

Last week, I realized that I get Home & Garden Television. I was ecstatic! Because I am in love with Holmes on Homes. I mean, I would have Mike Holmes' large, beefy, blonde babies, if only he'd ask me!

There's also a lovely show called How Not To Decorate with two bitchy, Scottish Queens renovating truly tacky homes around the U.K. Noice.

I am now addicted to all of these shows and more. They make me want to redecorate my home. Sadly, my lack of money is problematic for that scenario. Unless I take the "Throw pillows and new lamps" approach. But throw pillows are not what's needed here.

One of my goals for the next two years is to get new furniture. I want a big, comfy, red couch. You know that scene from Just Like Heaven? (Shut up! You know you saw it!) The one where Mark Ruffalo is trying to get a feel for the apartment and he sinks into the big, red sofa and sort of melts? That's what I want. So if the set decorator for Just Like Heaven ever happens to read this, e-mail me ([email protected]) and tell me where you bought that devine chesterfield. Or better yet, give it to me! There are worse things than having to deal with Mark Ruffalo's ass groove.

I'm also campaigning for a head and footboard for my bed. I've never had one and frankly, I feel deprived. But there are so many decisions! I like older, iron headboards, but I also love deep, dark cherry wood sleigh beds. I just can't decide. Or afford. But it's a goal of mine to save some money in order to do this up right.

**************

Work is going well. Ish. I'm still not writing as much as I'd like to, but (all fingers crossed) I get to go to Mexico in a week on a travel-writing trip! Somebody pinch me! Four days on the Baja peninsula when it's February in Canada? You don't have to ask me twice! The trip includes whale watching and possibly scuba-diving! I am super excited, though I'd rather not have to find a new bathing suit. That's always a big frowny-face.

I have to take two days of my vacation time to go on this Mexico trip, but because I've been here for a year now, I get two weeks of vacation, so two days right now is well spent!

But there's still a possibility that it might not happen as I don't have a passport. I'm working on it and I'm hoping they'll get it to me a few days into next week so I can give the junket people my passport number.

For my REAL vacation, I want to go to California or possibly New York. I'd love to go to New York in the fall or Cali in the late summer for some surfing.

But those things are pipe dreams until I can save some money. I might end up lounging on my couch for a week eating oreos straight out of the bag.

Cuz that's how I roll.


Tunes: Local bands for a mix tape I'm working on.
Text: The Tipping Point. Yes, STILL. I need a new book.
Tube: This Old House. Mmmm.... Bob Villa.


0 have spoken





���