When I'm 64? Shit, Paul! How about now?

2006-02-05, 3:44 a.m.

Somewhere along the line, in the past three years or so, I managed to become an old, old lady.

I don't know how it escaped my notice, but I certainly figured it out come Christmas Eve when I walked in the door to my childhood home at 7:30 p.m. and be greeted by my younger brother, who has somehow managed to grow a beard-ish thing, sprout to 6'5, and take up the disgusting habit of smoking. He slipped a drink in my hand, waited approximately two minutes, and demanded we start opening presents.

Why am I updating about Christmas in February, you ask? Because somehow, I have neglected this site to the extreme (I rock a mic like a vandal) and I felt like writing about something, but I'll be damned if I could think of anything.

So now, here we are. Discussing when I finally discovered that I am old.

I got all the presents I asked for (except for that iPod thingy all the kids are talking about. Still need one of those, if anybody with a lot of disposable income is reading). Sadly, everything I asked for most closely resembled the gift list for Ida Brubacker, age 79. Seriously.

I got two books about knitting, a tea pot, tea, a candle, some pyjamas with bears on 'em, socks, (granny)underwear, lottery tickets, and a spice rack. Oh, and cat grass for the Chairman Meow. When you start getting gifts for your cat from other people? That's just sad.

But remember: I ASKED for all that.

So you see, there is no way in hell I can ever pretend to be more chic than geek again.

No way I can continue to delude myself that I am basically Veronica Mars/Buffy Summers post high school and sans cool P.I./Slayer gig.

I'm just me and in actuality, I'm more than a little lame. Who wants to shake down the criminable/vampire element when you can get cozy for an evening of scarf-knitting, tea-drinking, TV-watching fun night in?

Yeah. EVERYBODY.

I need to get out. Find a hangout. Mingle. Have coffee sitting down for once.

My current life can be summed up thusly: "Can I get that in a go-cup? Cuz I gotta go."

Most of my down-time is spent on public transit.

There's a small-town part of me that can't quite believe it takes me an hour to get to work every day. I used to scoff at my friend in Saskatchewan who had to commute to the next town over for work.

Shoot. I could go to the next town over and back FOUR TIMES in the time it takes me to get from the South West side of the city to the North West.

I love the big city. I love the hustle and the bustle. I like the lights and the people and the music that comes from the pure noise everybody is always making.

But I guess part of me will always miss being able to walk pretty much anywhere I need to be in under ten minutes. You know, so I don't have to pull my old-lady hose up.


Tube: Veronica Mars on YouTube.com
Tunes: London Calling - The Clash
Text: A Stephen King short story collection. Can't remember if it's Night Shift or Skeleton Crew. I need to go to the library and how.


0 have spoken





���