America gets the Idol it deserves

2006-03-22, 8:02 p.m.

I hate American Idol. I hate it with a passion I usually reserve for Paris Hilton and the cafeteria upstairs.

I hate it because there is always that one guy, that one asshole, who's like "Nah, I'm not gonna sing it straight. I'm going to make a new arrangement of this song!"

Except, the thing is, Chris Daughtry's "arrangement" of Johnny Cash's I Walk the Line sounded EXACTLY like Live's arrangement of the same song from a Sun Records tribute album.

In fact, here it is. Live's version, that is. Don't want you getting confused. Since they're both so shitty. I give Live props for being cool enough to appreciate Johnny Cash, but it's nowhere near as good as the original and Chris' is even worse because it's a rip-off of a rip-off. Excuse me � tribute.

Please, feel free to pass this around to all your Idol-watchin' friends. I can't stand this loser and his "I'm tough, yet sensitive" schtick.

He's Bo Bice, except bald. Ed Kowalczyk should sue him for defamation of character. If he had any character to defame.

Last week on the Stevie Wonder show, he did the Chilli Peppers' version of Higher Ground.

Now, that's definitely more well known than Live's I Walk the Line, but still. Simon et al should know better. He's yanking their chains and they're like "Oooh! I like how you made it your own! Good Job!"

He didn't make it his own. He simply karaoke'd a different version of it. He should be on Rock Star instead. That kind of shit gets called out early and often on that show. But not on Idol. No. You mark my words, he's going to do the same thing every week.

Right up until the end when he wins.


Tunes: The Essex Green - Don't Know Why (You Stay).
Tube: Minnesota Vs. Dallas
Text: Disappearing Ingenue by Melissa Pritchard



0 have spoken





���