Crunching through the leaves in my new school shoes!

2006-09-30, 1:47 p.m.

I love autumn! I really, really, reeeeeheeeheeeally love it!

I love the leaves and the crisp air and the sunshine and the grass turning brown and the nip in the air and the orange bags of leaves smiling at you from the front lawn of your across the street neighbour.

I love pumpkins and halloween decorations and pie and pumpkin-spiced lattes and candy corn and mini-sixed chocolate bars (which, as has been noted in this online diary and others, do not have calories since they are so cute.) I love frost on the lawn and scarves with jean jackets. I love everything about fall.

Ooooh! Know what else? I love fall TV. Hellloooo Heroes! This year, at Thanksgiving, I am going to silently give thanks to you for allowing so many hot men to be on screen together at the same time! My family thinks I'll be thankful for the turkey and the food and being with them and everything, but that's just what they think! Really, I'm thankful for hot guys.

I love school supplies in stores like Zellers. I love back-to-school shopping for clothes, even if I don't have a school to go back to.

Actually, I'm having a hard time shopping. And not just because I'm several numbers higher than zero. And by several, I mean, ten. Or more. Judge away, you judgy bastards. No, it's because I don't really know HOW to dress, yaknow? I mean, I do. I can button and zipper and tie my own shoelaces and everything, it's just that, I'm perpetually stuck between professional adult-type person and t-shirt and jeans kind of girl. Well, I'M not stuck. I can and do wear t-shirts and jeans almost every day of my life. Putting a skirt on is a Big Deal.

But the more fashion television I watch, the more I wish I were smaller so I could wear cooler clothing. Stacey London! Help me! (She'd probably be like: Help yourself first, fatty! Get to the gym!")

I wanted everything (well, everything not covered in flowers) at Reitmans this year. I bought a cool skirt which I fully intend to wear. Someday. when I find some cool ankle boots and leg warmers and a leggings to wear with it. I hate leggings. I meant to say tights. Tights are tight. Leggings are for losers. Remember that, kids.

And while I do love the thought of new boots, I am also loving the thought of new sneakers. I feel kind of weird dressing for work. I mean, I work at night and the entertainment department allows for a lot more leeway than the news department, so I get to wear jeans and t-shirts and I generally keep it pretty funky. But I still dress like a college student. A poor college student. I like my band t-shirts and my jeans and my smart-set long-sleeved T's. I like henley tops and hoodies and ain't nobody goin' to take them away from me!

I can't get behind dress pants and suits. I suppose I should have a suit, but they honestly look terrible on me. I'm far too short and wide and... stumpy looking to look the way I would like to look in a suit. I prefer jeans and chuck taylor sneakers, thank you kindly.

I think I might get a new pair of chucks, though the price has risen exponentially in the last few years. I bought a pair in 2001 for $12 at a thrift store. They were bright, turquoise blue. In 2003, I bought a pair of denim high-top Chucks for $25. In 2004, it was $50 for a pair of red, canvass high tops. Now, I see the high tops selling for as much as $60, with the regular sneakers at $50. I know, cause I bought a pair of scruffy, laceless, black ones. Screw you, hipsters! I have been wearing these shoes since I was eight years old! Quit co-opting my memories!

I'd also like to buy up all the faux-ironic t-shirts and strangle people with them. Your "Not everything in the prairies is flat" t-shirt will never be as cool as my paint splattered Portland, Ore. "Home of the Dory Fleet" T-shirt I bought for $2. So nyeah-nyeah, you American Eagle buying bastards!

Did I just make an entry about clothing? It appears as if I did. So yes. It is safe to say that I am excited for fall.

I will also be carving a pumpkin. I haven't decided what scary imagine to carve yet. I need to visit the art supply store and buy some new Xacto blades and stuff. I'm thinking of making my own pattern this year. Because I am a NERD. And you won't even believe me when I tell you what I plan on carving. It is beyond nerdy.


Tube: Ned & Stacey reruns on TVtropolis. Why didn't this show last? It's quite clear that Ned is the prototype for Doogie Howser's Barney from How I Met Your Mother.
Text: I'm deep into a book of miniscule mysteries compiled by Isaac Asimov. At least, I am when I'm not being distracted by my newspaper calling Belinda Stronach a whore. I would now like every single fucking MALE politician who ever had an affair during his public life to be called a male whore please. Because this is a double standard of the highest priorities. She had an affair with a man whose marriage was over anyway. And a trophy hockey wife calling Belinda Stronach a whore... well, that's just rich. Maybe Tie Domi wanted to date somebody who would fuck him then take HIM out for dinner, huh?
Tunes: While I am currently celebrating the fact that Jared Leto's ass band is no longer coming to town this fall, I am also eagerly anticipating some upcoming concerts. Guns 'N' Roses starring Axl Rose to be specific. C'mon! That's gonna be a riot! Really! I seriously hope it will be a riot! And for however many millions of dollars Chinese Democracy cost to make, it better be good.


0 have spoken





���