Flaunt it Autumn! Work it! Yeah, baby!

2002-10-02, 7:48 a.m.

It�s the most! Wonderful time! Of the year!

I love the way the leaves prepare for their show-stopping number by turning into ridiculously handsome shades of orange and red before twirling madly to the ground where they will be scattered by small feet, merrily crashing through them.

I like cuddly blankets and thick books and fireplaces and big mugs of hot, aromatic tea.

Shopping for scarves and mittens and woolen hats is an obsession of mine. There is no greater pleasure than seeing a pile of wool sweaters for sale. It means fall is here.

I smile at the thought of not having to shave my legs every single day. I crave pants, baby! Heavy denim and courdoroy trousers that warm the cockles of my heart as well as my pasty-white, Canadian winter surviving legs.

I need the crisp chill of the wind under my thin jean jacket to signal that it�s time to unpack my wool jacket and try it on and go for a walk through the falling leaves.

I love it when I stick my hands in my pockets of my fall jacket and feel the crisp five dollar bill I planted in my pocket when I put the coat away last spring. It�s a genius little trick my grandpa taught me. Everyone should do it. I feel rich and it brightens the day.

There is no greater moment than that first dark and cold morning where you don�t want to get out of bed because it�s so darn cold! There�s something old-fashioned about waking up to listen to the morning report on CBC, waiting for my coffee to kick in and warm me from the inside out.

I�m a fan of the way the tip of my nose gets cold when I spend any amount of time outside. I�m mesmerized by the frosty clouds of my own breath as I wait for my rear window to defrost on my way to work.

I like driving my car home for Thanks-Giving dinner and singing along to my new Buffy soundtrack at the top of my lungs (Though people tend to look at me funny, especially during the lines about Xander's penis getting diseases from a Shumash tribe. Oh well.)

I like eating far too much turkey and basting in the glow of the television as my family chatters over a game of Whist in the other room.

I love the bold and brassy colours of the Halloween decorations in the store fronts. I smile back at the grinning bags of leaves sitting on recently raked lawn.

I like seeing the baseball players on playoff teams wear their long sleeves under their uniforms.

I love everything about this time of year. I even like the way the words sounds on my tongue. Fall. Harvest. Autumn. Unlike winter, the houseguest that won�t leave, fall is unobtrusive and fleeting. Get out and experience it before it�s gone.

Yesterday, I took a walk to Tim Horton's to get a double-double and a crueller and I walked through the graveyard behind my house. I saw two bunny rabbits and some gophers and thought how nice it is to live on the outskirts of the city where there are leaves and prairie and animals.

As I went crunching along through the fallen soldiers and the piles of maple leaves, I smiled. My nose was red and cold, but my heart was warm and I grinned as I raised my legs high and marched along with a group of school kids walking from the IMAX to their school buses. They ran and twirled and sang and for once, I thought it might be nice to have some kids running around me at some point in my life.

When I got to Timmy Ho's, I sat, drinking my hot, sweet coffee and picking pieces of leaves out my long, woolen scarf.

I felt great. I still do. Thanks Autumn.

I am loving: Autumn! Haven't you been paying attention?

I am listening to: the Once More With Feeling soundtrack. Wow. Amber Benson's got some set of pipes on her!

I am watching: The Osbournes. CTV just started airing it uncensored and I fucking love it! I think I want to grow up to be just like Sharon Osbourne.

I am being annoyed by: People who don't return phone calls. Yeah, you Mr. Mayor! You!

I am feeling: Really, really good. It's a peak day today. And later, there may be chocolate.



0 have spoken





���