I will write my Christmas cards tomorrow

2002-12-11, 9:39 p.m.

I have never sent Christmas cards out. I always mean to, and then I never do. I forget, see. I forget and I'm lazy. I have the attention span of a gnat. I have the attention span of a gnat who has attention deficit disorder. I have the attention span of a....okay, I think you get it. This whole paragraph illustrates my point. I started out on Christmas Cards and then I got to frickin' gnats and for a moment, I was trying to work in a joke about Jennifer Lopez, but it was too much work and you probably know what the joke was anyway, and in the end, I'm talking about nothing to do with Christmas cards, the topic I started on in the first place.

This is also the problem with the computer, if you ask me. The ability to have a bunch of "windows" that can be open simultaneously theoretically allows me to multi-task. But in actuality, it allows me to procrastinate in a way that tops all previous procrastination highs I've ever had. Including that time I stayed up until five minutes before that Grade 10 English class because I hadn't started my newspaper project until the last minute. But I pulled out a 97 on it anyway.

I recently found out that Gripper did the exact same thing on the exact same project. Were were talking about our procrastinating ways and, well, it's better translated.

Me: I am the worstprocrastinator!

Gripper: No, I am!

Me: No, really. I am the master procrastinator.

Gripper: I think you fail to grasp how much of a procrastinator I truly am. I am the Queen of Procrastination.

Me: Okay, but this one time, I didn't write a University term paper until three hours before the class.

Gripper: When I have a particularily large project coming up, I will lay on my bed, paint my toenails, play with the cat, read my yearbook, clean my room, sharpen every pencil I can find, do my laundry and pick cat hair off of every sweater I own before I sit down to do the project.

Me: Oh yeah? In grade 11, I completed an entire semester's worth of computer science assignments in 4 hours!

Gripper: Yawn. I had three finals in one day and didn't start studying for them until the last possible minute, which was the night before at 10 p.m. interrupted by a walk to 7-11 for a Barq's rootbeer big gulp.

Me: Please, girl! Do you remember that grade 10 english assignment we had with the novels and making a magazine about them?

Gripper: Yeah! I didn't do it until the night before. I was up until 5 in the morning.

Me: 8:30 a.m. and I only finished because my mom had to drive me to school that day.

Gripper: Wow. We're bad.

Me: You would think we would learn our lesson.

Gripper: You would?

Me: Well, you're not supposed to pull all-nighters until University. You would think that one would have done it.

Gripper: Did you learn your lesson?

Me: Nah. I got a 97.

Gripper: No way! Me too!

Me: Ha! All I learned from that little episode was that it doesn't matter how late you put something off, if you're a good enough bullshit artist, you can get away with it.

Gripper: Like, if we had gotten 70's or something...

Me: We would never get 70's!

Gripper: I know! So what's the motivation to work long and hard on a project if you know you can coast until the last minute, work crazy hard until all hours of the night, and then get a really high mark?

Me: I don't see any.

Gripper: Right!

Me: The only think that motivates me is last minute panic.

Gripper: Yeah.

Me: The thing is, high school is a poor training ground for real life. I can't get away with that shit anymore.

Gripper: Yeah. People who live in the real world have higher bullshit detectors than high school English teachers.

Me: Or History teachers. You know, Mr. Wilson would always tell our class that they couldn't get away with bullshitting him. I would blush and squirm in my seat because I had every intention of trying to bullshit him and I thought he knew it. So we'd do our reports and I would do mine at the last minute and he would write things on it like "Excellent work, Tanis, as I expect from you.", and "98 again! Congrats!", and I would look around and everybody else had like, 63's and "I told you, don't bullshit me!" scrawled on theirs. That was when I decided to become a writer.

Gripper: Why, because you figured everyone was as dumb as high school teachers?

Me: No, but I figured, I can write at the last minute and get away with it. And I can party until that last possible minute.

Gripper: But it's not working anymore.

Me: Sadly, no. I mean, it does, to a point. I mean, I have a story I should be writing right now, but I'm not. I'm doing this. And if I would just fucking do it, it would be done and it might not be fantastic, but at least it would be done for tomorrow and I could proof it before handing it in to the editor.

Gripper: But you're not.

Me: I certainly am not.

Gripper: It's a pathology.

Me: It certainly is.

I am watching: Nothing. TV sucks right now.

I am drinking: Vanilla Coke. Bad Tanis!

I am loving: The kitten. Still. Even though he wakes me up every morning at four to chew on my elbow.

I am preoccupied by: This wart on my finger that is clinging stubbornly to life, despite the bazillion wart remover patches I have been dutifully using on it. It's been here for about a year and a half and I have completely ignored it, hoping it would go away. But now that I have fingernails, I think it's more prominent. It's really fucking annoying.

0 have spoken





���