Not dead. Just, you know, FYI.

2007-11-28, 11:21 p.m.

I can't imagine anybody's still reading Geek Chic. The update page helpfully tells me it's been "over three months" since I last updated.

I know, okay? But I'm busy. I work. I sleep. I clean my apartment. Occasionally. I work some more. I go see shows in Toronto. I update two different blog collectives I belong to, Boobtube, and Sound Salvation Army, an MP3 blog. I somehow manage to find time to put off freelancing for a magazine that will pay me cash monay, should I ever get my ass in gear enough to get an article written. In between allllll that, I covertly act mean to annoying people I meet in my online travels. Trust me. They deserve it.

But all this stuff just isn't enough for me. I want more! Which is why I've decided to paint my apartment.

I've pretty much resolved to do it. Largely because the peach paint currently on my walls is fugly. I feel like I'm living inside a terra cotta planter. That somebody vomited in. My bedroom is robin's egg blue. Which would be great. If I were five. But I want colours that are calming, warm and more adult.

But there are preparations to be made. For one, I gotta rope somebody into helping me do this. My apartment certainly isn't huge, but there are a lot of walls to paint. I want all the rooms done. This means living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. I'm going to need new hardware for light switches and plugs and I also need a new light fixture put in the living room area.

It's going to require at least one weekend and one friend willing to come in from out of town and sleep on my very comfortable couch. I also have to make arrangements for the Chairman to go to kitty valhalla, where they turn him on to expensive new food and give him many cat friends to play with. Basically, I just need him out of my hair so he doesn't decide to rup up against a freshly painted wall. Which reminds me of the best use of Seinfeld's "yada yada yada" catchphrase I've ever heard. When I was in college, a friend of mine had her boyfriend over and they were getting down and dirty one night, not realizing until it was too late that the cat was in the room. "Yada yada yada, how do you wash a cat?" Hahaha! The cat got semen on it! Good times!

Aren't you happy I returned from Internet seclusion to post that? I know. I missed you too.


Tube: With the WGA strike going full blast, I feel no qualms about downloading to my heart's content. The writers and actors ain't gettin' paid for it anyway. So I'm all caught up on Pushing Daisies, Heroes, the Office, Ugly Betty and Project Runway. But I miss my late night boyfriends Conan, Jon and Stephen very much.
Tunes: I'm listening to a lot of neo-soul stuff. I saw Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings in Toronto and I've been scoping out the Dansettes (since broken up) and the Goddamn Doo Wop Band and I feel like I want to start a funk-soul revival outfit. Mainly, just so my bandmates and I can wear cute matching frocks. But also because Motown, Stax and Wall of Sound-type production and sound just calls to me.
Text: I'm reading Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials series. Because somebody told me there were talking polar bears. Man. They were right! Those bears do not disappoint! I'm on The Amber Spyglass, so I'm almost done.



0 have spoken





���