Constable Fowler. It has a ring to it.

2003-02-04, 1:18 p.m.

So I'm considering a career change. Seriously. I have my browser open to the RCMP's recruiting page I'm about five seconds away from calling them and asking when their next information session is.

I don't know if I want to do journalism anymore. I mean, I still love writing, but I'm not really enamoured of the journalism process. Or, of the processes that I seem to have to go through. Like, in Canada, you get two options: Write for a little weekly (which sucks) or write for Izzy Asper Corp. (Which also sucks.) There's also a third option called selling out. (Which I'm also considering.)

I've composed a comparative list between journalism and law enforcement.

Pro. Journalism. I'm a writer. That much is clear. I love to write, and I think I'm not bad at it.

Con. Journalism. The job market is horrible.

Pro. Law enforcement. As long as there are criminals, there will be jobs for cops.

Con. Law enforcement. Greater chance at being shot at. (Actually, I kinda consider this a pro. Despite what you might think, journalism is kind of boring.)

Pro. Journalism. Boring, but safe. But maybe I'm not doing the right kind of journalism.

Con. Journalism. Always on the outside looking in.

Pro. Law enforcement. Inside all the way, baby.

Con. Law enforcement. Prejudice against women still alive and well. Even in the RCMP. Can also still be boring. Even the city cops were trying to dissuade me. "It's not always like this! We don't get drug busts every day! It's mostly paperwork." I hate paperwork. Hmmm.

Pro. Journalism. Supposedly a lot of travel involved.

Con. Journalism. Only traveling I've done is to Brandon, Manitoba and then, to Weyburn.

Pro. Law enforcement. Travel involved.

Con. Law enforcement. Travel involved would likely be to Porcupine Plains. Would have to spend at least five years there.

Pro. Journalism. I already have my degree.

Con. Journalism. Fat lot of good it's done me.

Pro. Law enforcement. I already have a degree. Which they smile upon. RCMP would also help to pay for further education. And would offer me the chance to specialize in forensic investigation. Eventually.

Con. Law enforcement. Unquestionably following rules and obeying the law has not been my forte in the past.

Pro. Journalism. Allows me to think I am damning the man in some small, insignificant way.

Con. Law enforcement. I am the man. My hippie parents would be so proud.

Sigh. I don't know. I've really wanted to do both things for a very long time. My journalism degree might help me get ahead in the RCMP (though not the city cops, if Tim Filizack is any indication.) Really, I'm confused. There's an information session in Regina soon. Hmmm. That's another plus on the side of the RCMP. All cadet training for mounties takes place in Regina. Wouldn't have to move far. I already know the city and the barracks fairly well. The regional forensic building is also in Regina. Sigh. Meh! What should I do? I really don't know. E-mail me with your suggestions. I still can't believe I'm actually contemplating this.

I am reading: Why I Hate Canadians. By Will Ferguson. It's tapping into my Canadian psyche and making me think.

I am listening to: The Smiths and Elvis Costello. Nothing like em' for the whinge I'm currently experiencing.

I am watching: Kingpin. It's no Alias. Heck, it's not even no Buffy. But they do have that tiger. He eats people. Oh my.

I am eating: Three square meals a day. Thank God for my moms. Perhaps I felt so sickly for awhile because I'm deficient in several chemicals which are needed for y'know, living. I mean, I lived off skittles and coke and banana bread for about four and a half years. That's bad, right? Right.

0 have spoken





���