26 days later...

2004-01-21, 1:09 a.m.

Just like the movie, but with less zombies. And fewer days.

Let's not talk about how I'm a non-updating bitch, okay? I mean, I am. Who am I kidding? 26 days? That's like, two shy of 28 days. And that's scary. Can you believe I haven't updated in almost 30 days? Crazy! What could have been keeping me so busy? WHAT? I know people are just, like slavering to know what's so goddamn important in my lame life that I can't find two seconds to update this website.

Well I'ma tell you, a'ight?

I was sick. And my dog ate it. And..Jesus Christ you people are nosy! I was ill with the plague. Or that's what it felt like.

I even took a day off work. And I hate doing that. Though I mostly think people who can't take a day off work are losers, like the world won't stop spinning if you and your germs aren't present. And I think I've ranted about this very issue before. And now I've turned into one of those people.

You know the kind. They hack into that one, ratty kleenex because they forgot to bring a box, again. They moan and hang their heads, massaging their temples with their germy fingers. They form a tube with their fists and bring it to their mouths when they cough, all the better to shoot their germs directly at you. Impromptu sneezes escape their mouths before they can bring said ratty kleenex up to cover their faces, hence the snot all over your keyboard. Sure, they were just borrowing your computer for a second, but they clearly forgot the phleghm!

But I took yesterday off and languished in bed, rising only to perform the most basic of human functions. Like making a really tasty mushroom and gouda omelet. I mean, it was tasty because I used extra garlic since I couldn't really smell or taste anything.

I also went to Regina to see an old professor off. My broadcast prof Larry retired after years as a camera man and several more as a professor at my university. One thing that somebody said really stuck out. I'm a print person and Larry was a broadcast person, but I still learned a lot from him and not just about broadcast journalism. He taught us about respect. Respect the story, respect the subject, respect your fellow human beings. Say please and thank you. These people don't have to be telling you anything. They'll respond to an encouraging smile more than they'll respond to a terse "I'm on a deadline, you know!" At school, Larry was always easy-going. Except for one time when I kept out a camera for a day longer than I was scheduled to have it. He took away my equipment privaleges for a whole week. And that just ain't fair, yo! And he always wanted us to use a tripod when filming. But we were enterprizing videographers! Why would we use a tripod? Huh? Why? Oh, right. Because the camera might somehow, hypothetically fall off our shaky, young shoulders. And we might, um, irreparably damage said camera. Heh. Hypothetically.

I complained a lot about Journalism school. The hours were rough, the classes were hard, and the rewards were few. But I really miss it. I especially miss all of my classmates. Several of us got together for drinks post party. Then some of us slept on the floor of a nice condo. Others of us met for the infamous breakfast at Smitty's the next day. Still others of us spent way too much money on some cute, but functional shoes and Gap jeans. And a sweater. But it was totally on sale!

But I digress. It was good seeing everybody again to share stories and current work trials and tribulations.

In other news, I'm applying for a new job. I love my current job, I'm just not so sure about the location anymore. Besides, I really want to drive out of a town with the Guess Who's "Runnin' back to Saskatoon" blaring on my radio while I actually drive to Saskatoon.

Tube: Buffy season 4 DVDs

Tunes: Radio Luv Song by 54-40

Text: Tuesday's with Morrie



0 have spoken





���