The mid-afternoon funk

2002-09-06, 2:22 p.m.

Positive thinking. Is it really all it�s cracked up to be?

I get in these funks, where I don�t want to be in the place that I am. I just want to wallow in how horrible and unfair and stupid it is that I have to be in a place that I hate, probably for a really long time.

I don�t want to look at possible solutions to my problems because most of them involve me working harder. I suppose that�s a viable option. I�m just lazy.

I�m like, the Tom Sawyer of the office. Except, I�m even more lazy than that. I would dream up a great way to make Huck Finn paint my fence, but when it came time to implement my devious plot, I would just go �Meh� and not paint the fence AND not convince Huck Finn to paint my fence and just generally goof off until Aunt Mae or whoever the hell it is would come out and give me hell for not painting the fence. And I would be relegated to my room to learn my lesson. Only I wouldn�t learn my lesson, I would just read and then wonder if the lesson was over yet. And I would probably do the same thing over again.

You might think that�s an overly simplified look at the way things are, but without going into details of my job, and having them written down somewhere where somebody I work with could read them, I can tell you that it�s as close as I can get to the truth without coming out and describing exactly what I do and exactly why I hate it.

I spent 13 years in High School having my creativity nurtured, and I spent 4 years in University chanelling that creativity into a viable career option, and now, I have spent six months in the real world where that creativity was snuffed out quicker than a candle that you thought would smell good, but turned out to be patchouli.

Awesome.

I am eating: Nothing

I am drinking: Nothing

I am listening to: the drone of the lights and the squealing of the brats who have been dragged to the mall by their unsympathetic parents.

I am going to: Finish two articles before 5:30 and then work on two more over the weekend. Plus, my own freelance articles.

I am feeling: Tired. Impatient. Depressed. See above posts.

I am in love with: Nothing! Everything sucks! You suck! Okay. You don�t suck. I suck. I�m sorry! I love you! Come back.

0 have spoken





���