Sunny, sunny, sunny days.

2004-08-04, 3:05 p.m.

Want to know why I never freakin' update this stupid thing? Because whenever I try, the stupid servers are like "Uh, sorry, we're busy." And as me trying to update in the seven seconds a week when I am not legitimately busy, that's really annoying.

Also, anybody with a credit card who might want to buy me a gold membership (I'd pay you back, cause I'm cool like that) should do so. Because I've asked and asked about the mysterious cheque cashing machine that is supposed to apparently materialize out of thin air, or at least, it says so on the FAQ. And I even e-mailed and said "I'll pay you cash! I'll give you extra! Please! Please! I want a gold membership! Wahhh!" And of course, got no response. You don't think it's because I'm whiney, do you?

But that's not what I wanted to talk about. I wanted to talk about summer. And how much more awesome summer would be if I happened to live in an air conditioned apartment. I deal really well with heat. Seriously. As long as I have an apartment to go to where I can crank the A/C and pretend it's winter for about a week at the end of July/beginning of August.

You know that commercial, where the guys are moving the air conditioner into their house and some scantily clad trollop walks by with a Tim Hortons Iced Cappucino? And they get one too cool off and you see them sitting with their feet up on the air conditioner? Are they shitting me with that shit? Here's a thought: Hook the A/C up AND get an Ice Cap! I've always been kind of leery of the ice cap. I tend to like my coffee hot.

However, in a moment of abject desperation where I was so hot that I actually turned into a puddle and ruined my cute new flip-flops (the kind with the kind of cork weave stuff? Okay. They were cute, but now, they're not because when the dirt gets under my big toe, it leaves a big, black mark. And when I take my sandals off, I can just see people thinking "Holy shit! She has got some BIG freakin' toes!") I went into Timmy Ho's and got a medium Iced Cappucino. So now, I'm hooked and am actually feeling a great desire for one right now. I'm going to try to curb said desire and wait until I go into work to get one. It'll make all my co-workers extra jealous.

I spent this weekend wallowing in my hot apartment with Gripper, who was on a much needed break from work drama in Calgary. We did actually get to go outside and go for a walk, even though I was lame and felt dizzy, so we had to get water and have a little sit down in the grass by a church. We walked down by all the richie-rich houses in the Hat. They're next to the river bank and all big and old and made of brick with big, rich-people-have-needs-too curving driveways. So we talked about how we needed to own one of these houses. And I think we should also ask for a pony, as long as we're wishing.

Speaking of wishing. I wish I had known about Rodrigo Santoro sooner. See, we rented Love, Actually to sate our Firth/Grant/Rickman lust. I was actually thinking about renting Two Weeks Notice, Bridget Jones, and What a Girl Wants (shut up!) and just, you know, never, ever leaving my apartment again. Instead I just rented that one. It turned out to be more than enough because, ohhhhh, Colin and Hugh, I'm sorry to say that though you were both VERY cute and VERY charmingly British, Rodrigo Santoro is just, ummmm....haaawwwwttttt. Seriously. That's quite a body that boy's got on him. And the face ain't bad either. Although I confess, it's mostly the hair that gets me. Rrrowr!

uhhh, moving right along....we also rented The Station Agent and Mambo Italiano, a Canadian film that was really quite good for...a Canadian film. Harmless fluff. With Mary Walsh saying "Banging!" in an Italian-by-way-of-Newfoundland accent. Good times. I liked the Station Agent and really think that Bobby Canavale gives the best performance. He's like a puppy. "Are you doing something later? Can I come?" "We're not doing something later." "But if you do?" "We won't." "Yeah, but if you do..." "....If we do." He was awesome. As were they all.

Wow. Looking at my skin under these flourescent lights, I look orange. I've been using Neutrogena's build a tan because otherwise, I'm just pale. And I can't sit still long enough for tanning beds. But if you don't exfoliate really well before using it, patches of dead skin turn orange. And I see that I got a big gob of lotion on my shoulder that I didn't wipe in enough. So it's especially orange.

I apologize for this long entry about nothing. Admit it, you were entertained. You live to hear my thoughts on Colin Firth and Hugh Grant and Iced Cappucino's and tanning creams. You love it. You psychos.

Here's some news: Next year at this time, I will be surfing. Yep. ErinG (Who is like AliG in that she's cool and funny and not like AliG in that she doesn't become so annoying in five minutes that I want to punch her face in) and I are going to surf sisters in Tofino for a week next July. It's in the can, babies. You can come too, if you want.

And I applied for a position in Victoria. We'll see. We'll see.

and my pictures are up again! Weee! Yay Therese!

Tube: The Station Agent director and cast commentary. Cause I'm a nerd.

Tunes: Corb Lund Band - Five Dollar Bill. Alberta-tastic country from the ex-bassist of The Smalls.

Text: How to Be Good - Nick Hornby



0 have spoken





���